The All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity

APPG Genocide Prevention

The All Party Parliamentary Group for the Prevention of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity is a cross-party group that aims to ensure that the UK does all it can to prevent genocide. Its focus is on cross-cutting issues and specific events rather than having a geographic or thematic focus such as the responsibility to protect (R2P).

Co-Chairs: Fleur Anderson MP (Labour) and Mohammad Lord Sheikh (Conservative).

The APPG for Prevention of Genocide’s objectives are to:

  • Ensure that the United Kingdom does all it can to prevent genocides and crimes against humanity;
  • Increase the flow of independent information and analysis to British Parliamentarians about genocides and crimes against humanity;
  • Support Parliamentarians so as to increase the effectiveness of their scrutiny of government, and;
  • Promote understanding of the importance of long term approaches to genocide prevention.

Secretariat: The Aegis Trust acts as the secretariat for the APPG on the Prevention of Genocide. Contact

For reports on past APPG events, see news items in the feed below. You can follow the APPG on twitter: @GenocideAPPG

APPG Meeting Notes & Events

Current List of Officers and Members: click here

The Cost of Doing Nothing

A report on the UK’s responsibility to protect civilians from genocide and crimes against humanity. Based on work begun by Jo Cox MP (1974-2016) and Tom Tugendhat MP. Completed by Alison McGovern MP and Tom Tugendhat MP. This report provides useful recommendations on how to get the balance right between premature and inappropriate military intervention on the one hand and complete inaction on the other.

Please note: this is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group or of individual contributors.